I REFUSE TO BE HELD CAPTIVE TO THE MODERN DAY IDOL

I REFUSE TO BE HELD CAPTIVE TO THE MODERN-DAY IDOL

This was not the blog I had anticipated writing after many months of silence but this blog explains why I have been silent for so long. The IDOL of today held me captive for over a year. This is a universal problem and no one is immune to it. This Idol steals and robs people of the “real life” that we were intended to have. Life is happening all around us but those who are held captive by this idol are missing life. What is this idol you may ask it is the CELL PHONE.

I have NEVER been a phone person, yes I am a conservationist but I do not like being consumed by a device every waking breathing second of my life. I wrote a poem many many years ago called “Teletrouble” so clearly I am not a phone person. For over a year I have been the slave and prisoner of the phone at the expense of my relationship with the Creator and many other things. The revelation came crashing into me last week and I informed people that I love that I was setting boundaries from now on. I put this off because I did not want to offend or hurt anyone but it seems what I said and the many reasons I gave went in one ear and out the other. So radical action will be taking place starting today I AM FASTING THE PHONE and at this point, I really do not care who likes it or who chooses to be offended because all that says to me is they do not care for me at all. For over a year I have sadly come to the end of countless days and the only thing I got accomplished was being ear raped for hours and hours. I put everyone else’s feelings and needs above my own and above what I knew in my heart to be right and yet my honesty has not been accepted and the calls and texts keep coming. I have felt led to do this over and over again and sometimes the enemy comes as an angel of light and makes justifications to take that call or this call and once again I am back to my whole day being wasted and feeling bad because I allowed it again. I use to spend whole days with the creator and the last year I have been trying to squeeze him in and this put very honestly and probably in the words of Peter (Jesus disciple) if he were me right now it pisses me off!

All of the sudden I had people calling me that never called before they were the text happy bunch. Some would say oh you should be flattered but I know how the thief operates he knew my prayers and need for time with God and he knew I was being convicted daily by the incessant sound of people in my ear. So what better way to create disobedience than to add more people who are addicted to their devices to my life. There is a scripture that reads in JOHN 10:10 “THE THIEF COMES ONLY IN ORDER TO STEAL, KILL AND DESTROY, BUT I CAME SO THAT YOU WOULD HAVE LIFE AND ENJOY YOUR LIFE IN ABUNDANCE TO THE FULL UNTIL IT OVERFLOWS It did not say I came to give you life that you may ENJOY YOUR DEVICE (cell phones, laptops, chrome book, video games) or whatever other device that may be stealing from you today. In abundance to the full until it overflows. But this is what the human race is doing all day every day.

Even in the body of Christ Christians are worshiping their devices most do not even carry a Bible now they pack their phones to church. There is nothing wrong with the Bible on the phone HOWEVER I do think that there is something very special and powerful about touching holding and seeing the bible. It is the closest thing we have to touching God in the flesh. Who do most Christians spend their time with? What do Christians touch all day and look at all day? Some might say well I center everything around God. I say Great but do you spend time with HIM or just time watching things about him and talking about Him. The life of JOHN 10:10 is talking about REAL LIFE it is all around us but most do not even see it because they are consumed by their devices. This culture is THE MOST DYSFUNCTIONAL that has ever existed. They eat, breath and sleep their phone or devices. If you want to see if you have a problem then just let the internet go out and you will understand how dependent you are to these thieves that rob us of “life”

As I said revelations came crashing into me not that I was ever in denial about the effects that technology has had on our world hence all of my blogs and poems but the revelation of when some make it to heaven and GOD ASKS WHAT DID YOU DO WITH THE TIME AND LIFE THAT I GAVE YOU? How many Christians will say LORD I GAVE MY TIME AND LIFE TO MY DEVICE. I REFUSE TO BE THAT PERSON! Over a year ago If I met my maker and he asked me that question I could say honestly Lord I gave you most of my time and my life. Well, sadly I have not been able to say that over this last year. People are hardcore addicted to these things and Like any addict, they are deeply in denial and make excuses and justifications for their addiction. But the bottom line is this if you have to be in constant contact with people 24 hours a day then You have a problem. If you climb the walls over the internet being out or freak out when you have no cell phone service then you have a problem. If you get mad and hurt and offended because someone did not return your text as quickly as you thought they should you have a problem. I have many problems and THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM and I WILL NOT ALLOW IT TO BE ONE! I am God’s wild child and He knows that I am not little miss perfect I get angry like Peter did I cuss every now and then (that’s being human and this does not shock Him) but my heart belongs to God. I love everyone in my life but…I am In love with Jesus and will not compromise anymore or apologize for that. This is not a spiritual activity for me it is a lifestyle and I ALLOWED the thief to come in and rob me of a year that I cannot get back.

I miss the days before cell phones when we had house phones and answering machines you had the privileged of not answering the phone and NO ONE got offended, mad, hurt and no one instantly thought if you did not answer it you must be in trouble and possibly dead. REALLY? Now people expect you to have the phone glued to your person and should be accessible 24 hours a day. I AM OVER IT!!!!! I am ashamed that I let it go on this long. This has been my life for over a year. Someone in my ear all day by end of the day I have been emotionally and mentally drained from the no-stop conversations. At the end of the day feeling no energy because I was attached to a device all day because every time I move someone whines they can’t hear me so, therefore, I am stuck to the phone immobile in one spot getting none of my work done. My shoulder and neck aching because I would try and do stuff while holding the phone with my shoulder to no avail. Not writing or blogging or doing the things that I enjoy. Spending your entire days on a device is a tragic waste of life and if that’s what you want to do with the time and life you have here and if it does not bother you to stand before God almighty and tell him you gave your life to a device then good on you but as for me it ENDS TODAY! I was on the phone till 3pm today and that is not a fruitful or productive day.

The only thing that I have accomplished this year is I got my store back in order from the massive amount of inventory we got last summer and I started a new book many months ago. Started is the keyword. You cant write and create when your on the phone, you will never have intimate relationships with God or your family on the phone or some other cold lifeless machine. You will never be healthy and in shape, if the only activity and muscle you use is your mouth. I am not an old person and yet this year I have so many aches and pains in my body when I have been active and it has been from the inactivity of being on the Devil Phone all day. I am an energetic person who prefers to keep it moving and that’s what I intend to do from today on. Life is Our relationship with our creator, our husbands, children, pets, home, gifts and talents, and even hobbies, our yards and I think its time for the human race to get a life. Sorry folks I needed to scream. I hope that this will enlighten others to evaluate your life and your device and CHOOSE LIFE!

Leave a comment